Renewed efforts in motion to rescue Trinidad’s historic Firehouse No. 1, currently housing the Trinidad Children’s Museum.
(Excerpted from an article in The Chronicle News by Maggie May)
The original Firehouse No. 1 building, built in 1889, has housed the Children’s Museum for many years but has fallen into disrepair recently. The Trinidad Junior Historic Society is determined to save the venerable site which offers a glimpse into the Victorian experience of Trinidad from 1900s classrooms to an original vintage fire truck. The exterior of the building was designed by the famous Rapp family of architects, the same that designed the First National Bank building. The carriage doors currently protect the fire truck, and the room behind the big window above the carriage doors was the original City Hall Chambers. The most recognizable feature of the firehouse is the cupola located on top of the building that houses the fire bell.
Once renovated, the Children’s Museum promises to be a valuable interactive component of our downtown restoration and a tribute to the power of passionate volunteers.